Eligible countries for IBF Classic



Please note that the director of the project should have the nationality of a country **as listed below** and should live and work in this country. In addition, the main producer attached to the project must be based in a country listed below.

Filmmakers originating from one of these countries and now living in diaspora can NOT apply for IBF Classic, but since 2019 they can apply for IBF Europe.

The country list below is based on the <u>DAC-list</u> but excludes the Eastern European countries that have access to funding from <u>the MEDIA programme</u>. Filmmakers from the Caucasus can all apply: Georgia, Armenia and Azerbaijan (until the moment they'll have access to funding from the MEDIA programme).

In 2025, countries listed on the 2025 World Press Freedom Index ranking from 115 to 180 (scoring below 50 points on 'Global Score') are eligible. While some of these countries are not included on the DAC-list, the situation regarding freedom of the press is (very) difficult. Only projects that address political or human rights related topics within the country itself will be accepted from these countries, see * marked below.

As of 2022, IDFA and the IDFA Bertha Fund will use the United Nations geoscheme. The United Nations geoscheme is a system which divides 249 countries and territories in the world into 6 regional, 17 subregional, and 9 sub-subregional groups. It was devised by the United Nations Statistics Division (UNSD) based on the M49 coding classification.

AFRICA

M Α Algeria Madagascar Angola Malawi Mali В Mauritania Benin Mauritius Botswana Mayotte** Burkina Faso Morocco Burundi Mozambique C Ν Namibia Cabo Verde Cameroon Niger Central African Republic Nigeria Chad Comoros R Congo, Democratic Republic of the Réunion** Congo Rwanda Cote d'Ivoire D Sao Tome and Principe Djibouti Senegal Sierra Leone Ε Somalia Egypt South Africa **Equatorial Guinea** South Sudan Eritrea Sudan Eswatini Ethiopia Tanzania (United Republic of) G Togo Gabon Tunisia Gambia U Ghana Guinea Uganda Guinea-Bissau Z Κ Zambia Zimbabwe Kenya

L Lesotho Liberia Libya

ASIA

A	IVI
Afghanistan	Malaysia
Armenia	Maldives
Azerbaijan	Mongolia
	Myanmar
В	
Bahrain*	N
Bangladesh	Nepal
Bhutan	
	0
C	Oman*
Cambodia	
China	P
	Pakistan
G	Palestine (West Bank and Gaza Strip)
Georgia	Philippines
Н	S
Hong Kong*	Saudi Arabia*
	Singapore*
1	Sri Lanka
India	Syrian Arab Republic
Indonesia	
Iran	T
Iraq	Tajikistan
	Thailand
J	Timor-Leste
Jordan	Turkey
	Turkmenistan
K	
Kazakhstan	U
Korea, Democratic People's Republic of (North	United Arab Emirates*
Korea)	Uzbekistan
Kuwait*	
Kyrgyzstan	V
	Viet Nam
L	
Lao People's Democratic Republic (Laos)	Υ
Lebanon	Yemen

EASTERN EUROPE

В

Belarus

K Kosovo

М

Moldova

R

Russian Federation*

U

Ukraine

OCEANIA

F

Fiji

K

Kiribati

M

Micronesia

Ν

Nauru

New Caledonia**

Niue

Ρ

Palau

Papua New Guinea

S

Samoa

Solomon Islands

Т

Tokelau Tonga Tuvalu

٧

Vanuatu

W

Wallis and Futuna

LATIN AMERICA AND THE CARIBBEAN

Α

Argentina

Aruba**

В

Belize Bolivia

Bonaire, Sint Eustatius and Saba**

Brazil (only for the development category)

C

Colombia Costa Rica Cuba Curaçao**

D

Dominica

Dominican Republic

Ε

Ecuador El Salvador

G

Grenada Guatemala Guadeloupe**

Guyana

Н

Haiti Honduras J

Jamaica

M

Marshall Islands Martinique**

Mexico (only for the development category)

Montserrat

Ν

Nicaragua

Ρ

Panama Paraguay Peru

Puerto Rico**

S

Saba**

Saint Eustatius**
Saint Helena

Saint Kitts & Nevis**

Saint Lucia
Saint Martin**

Saint Vincent and the Grenadines

Suriname

٧

Venezuela

^{*} Projects from these countries are only accepted when they address political or human rights related topics within the country itself. A producer based in one of these countries can only be attached as main producer of a project from this country.

^{**} Applicants from these countries should be able to prove they were born there and are currently living and working there as well.