Eligible countries for IBF Classic

Please note that the director of the project should have the nationality of a country **as listed below** and should live and work in this country. In addition, the main producer attached to the project must be based in a country listed below.



Filmmakers originating from one of these countries and now living in diaspora can NOT apply for IBF Classic, but since 2019 they can apply for IBF Europe.

The country list below is based on the <u>DAC-list</u> but excludes the Eastern European countries that have access to funding from <u>the MEDIA programme</u>. Filmmakers from the Caucasus can all apply: Georgia, Armenia and Azerbaijan (until the moment they'll have access to funding from the MEDIA programme).

In 2023, countries listed on the 2022 World Press Freedom Index ranking from 111 to 180 (red and dark orange) are eligible. Some of these countries are not included in the DAC-list, but the situation concerning freedom of the press is difficult or very difficult. Only projects that address political or human rights related topics within the country itself will be accepted from these countries, see * marked below.

As of 2022, IDFA and the IDFA Bertha Fund will use the United Nations geoscheme. The United Nations geoscheme is a system which divides 249 countries and territories in the world into 6 regional, 17 subregional, and 9 sub-subregional groups. It was devised by the United Nations Statistics Division (UNSD) based on the M49 coding classification.

AFRICA

Α M Algeria Madagascar Angola Malawi Mali В Mauritania Benin Mauritius Botswana Morocco Burkina Faso Mozambique Burundi Ν Namibia C Cabo Verde Niger Cameroon Nigeria Central African Republic (CAR) Chad R Comoros Rwanda Congo, Democratic Republic of the Congo-Brazzaville Cote d'Ivoire Sao Tome and Principe Senegal Seychelles D Djibouti Sierra Leone Somalia Ε South Africa Egypt South Sudan **Equatorial Guinea** Sudan Eritrea Т Eswatini Ethiopia Tanzania Togo G Tunisia Gabon Gambia U Ghana Uganda Guinea Z Guinea-Bissau Zambia Κ Zimbabwe Kenya L Lesotho Liberia

Libya

ASIA

Ν Afghanistan Nepal Armenia 0 Azerbaijan Oman* Bahrein* Ρ Bangladesh Pakistan Bhutan Palestine (West Bank and Gaza Strip) Brunei* **Philippines** C Q Cambodia Qatar* China Saudi Arabia* G Georgia Singapore* Sri Lanka Н Syrian Arab Republic Hong Kong* Т ı Tajikistan India Thailand Indonesia Timor-Leste Turkey Iran Turkmenistan Iraq J Jordan United Arab Emirates* Uzbekistan Κ Kazakhstan V Kuwait Vietnam Kyrgyzstan Korea, Democratic People's Republic of (North Korea) Yemen L Laos Lebanon Libya M Malaysia Maldives Mongolia

Myanmar

EASTERN EUROPE

В

Belarus Russian Federation*

M U Moldova Ukraine

K Kosovo

OCEANIA

F S Samoa

Solomon Islands

K Kiribati T Tokelau

M Tonga Micronesia Tuvalu

N V Nauru Vanuatu

Niue Vanua

P Wallis and Futuna

Papua New Guinea

LATIN AMERICA AND THE CARIBBEAN

Α

Argentina***
Aruba**

В

Belize Bolivia

Bonaire, Sint Eustatius and Saba**

Brazil (only for the development category)

C

Colombia Cook Island Costa Rica Cuba Curaçao**

D

Dominica

Dominican Republic

Ε

Ecuador El Salvador

G

Grenada Guatemala Guyana

Н

Haiti Honduras J

Jamaica

Μ

Marshall Islands
Martinique**

Mexico (only for the development category)

Montserrat

Ν

Nicaragua

Ρ

Panama Paraguay Peru

Puerto Rico**

S

Saba**

Saint Eustatius**
Saint Helena
Saint Kitts & Nevis**

Saint Lucia
Saint Martin**

Saint Vincent and the Grenadines

Suriname

V

Venezuela

* Projects from these countries are only accepted when they address political or human rights related topics within the country itself. A producer based in one of these countries can only be attached as main producer of a project from this country.

- ** Applicants from these countries should be able to prove they were born there and are currently living and working there as well.
- *** Considering the consequences of COVID-19 on possibilities for national funding, projects from these countries are, aside from the IBF Classic Development category, currently also accepted for the IBF Classic Production & Post-production category, under the condition that the submitted project has not yet received production funding from INCAA.