



IBF Europe Country List

Eligible projects

The IDFA Bertha Fund supports documentary projects from Africa, Asia, Eastern Europe, Latin America and the Caribbean, and Oceania. Below, you can find the list of eligible countries from these regions.

The director of the project should have the nationality of a country **as listed below** and preferably live and work in this country. The documentary project should also be shot in one of these countries. **Directors living in diaspora**

Since 2019, the IBF <u>Europe</u> category is also open to filmmakers originating and born in a country **as listed below** and now living in diaspora. *In this case, IBF only accepts projects that are set and shot in the country of origin of the director. Furthermore, the director cannot be a partner or owner of the applicant co-production company in Europe!*

In addition, at least **one coproduction company** attached to the project must be based in a country listed below.

Eligible applicant

The applicant should be a production company that is constituted and active in a country participating in <u>the MEDIA Sub-program</u> and owned - directly or by majority participation - by nationals from such countries.

AFRICA

Α

Algeria Angola

В

Benin Botswana Burkina Faso Burundi

С

Cabo Verde Cameroon Central African Republic (CAR) Chad Comoros Congo, Democratic Republic of the Congo-Brazzaville Cote d'Ivoire

D

Djibouti

Ε

Egypt Equatorial Guinea Eritrea Eswatini Ethiopia

G

Gabon Gambia Ghana Guinea Guinea-Bissau

К

Kenya

L

Lesotho Liberia Libya

Μ

Madagascar Malawi Mali Mauritania Mauritius Morocco Mozambique

Ν

Namibia Niger Nigeria

R

Rwanda

S

Sao Tome and Principe Senegal Seychelles Sierra Leone Somalia South Africa South Sudan Sudan

Т

Tanzania Togo Tunisia

U

Uganda

Ζ

Zambia Zimbabwe

ASIA

Α

Afghanistan Armenia Azerbaijan

В

Bahrein* Bangladesh Bhutan Brunei*

С

Cambodia China

G

Georgia

Н

Hong Kong*

L

India Indonesia Iran Iraq

J

Jordan

К

Kazakhstan Kuwait Kyrgyzstan Korea, Democratic People's Republic of

L

Laos Lebanon Libya

Μ

Malaysia Maldives Mongolia Myanmar **N** Nepal

North Korea

0

Oman*

Ρ

Pakistan Palestine (West Bank and Gaza Strip) Philippines

Q

Qatar*

S

Saudi Arabia* Singapore* Sri Lanka Syrian Arab Republic

т

Tajikistan Thailand Timor-Leste Turkey Turkmenistan

U

United Arab Emirates* Uzbekistan

V

Vietnam

Y

Yemen

EASTERN EUROPE

B Belarus

M Moldova

K Kosovo **R** Russian Federation*

U Ukraine

OCEANIA

F Fiji	S Samoa Solomon Islands
К	
Kiribati	т
	Tokelau
Μ	Tonga
Micronesia	Tuvalu
Ν	V
Nauru	Vanuatu
Niue	
	W
Р	Wallis and Futuna

P Papua New Guinea

LATIN AMERICA AND THE CARIBBEAN

Α

Argentina

В

Belize Bolivia Brazil

С

Colombia Cook Island Costa Rica Cuba

D

Dominica Dominican Republic

Ε

Ecuador El Salvador

G

Grenada Guatemala Guyana

Н

Haiti Honduras

J Jamaica

м

Marshall Islands Mexico Montserrat

N

Nicaragua

Ρ

Panama Paraguay Peru

S

Saint Helena Saint Lucia Saint Vincent and the Grenadines Suriname

V

Venezuela

* Projects from these countries are only accepted when they address social, political issues of sensitive nature within the country itself.

This list is based on the <u>DAC-list</u>. In addition the list includes countries listed on the <u>2023 World Press</u> <u>Freedom Index</u> ranking from 108 to 180 (red and dark orange). Some of these countries are not included in the DAC-list, but the situation concerning freedom of the press is difficult or very difficult. Only projects about human rights or political issues of sensitive nature within the country will be accepted from these countries, see * marked above.

The list excludes the Eastern European countries that have access to funding from <u>the MEDIA</u> <u>programme</u>.