



IBF Europe Country List

Eligible projects

The IDFA Bertha Fund supports documentary projects from Africa, Asia, Eastern Europe, Latin America and the Caribbean, and Oceania. Below, you can find the list of eligible countries from these regions.

The director of the project should have the nationality of a country **as listed below** and preferably live and work in this country. The documentary project should also be shot in one of these countries. **Directors living in diaspora**

Since 2019, the IBF <u>Europe</u> category is also open to filmmakers originating and born in a country **as listed below** and now living in diaspora. **In this case, IBF only accepts projects that are set and shot in one of the countries listed below. Furthermore, the director cannot be a partner or owner of the applicant co-production company in Europe!**

In addition, at least **one coproduction company** attached to the project must be based in a country listed below.

Eligible applicant

The applicant should be a production company that is constituted and active in a country participating in the MEDIA Sub-program and owned - directly or by majority participation - by nationals from such countries.

AFRICA

L Lesotho Liberia Libya

Α M Algeria Madagascar Angola Malawi Mali В Mauritania Benin Mauritius Botswana Morocco Burkina Faso Mozambique Burundi Ν C Namibia Cabo Verde Niger Cameroon Nigeria Central African Republic (CAR) Chad R Rwanda Comoros Congo, Democratic Republic of the Congo-Brazzaville Cote d'Ivoire Sao Tome and Principe Senegal D Seychelles Djibouti Sierra Leone Somalia Ε South Africa Egypt South Sudan **Equatorial Guinea** Sudan Eritrea Т Eswatini Tanzania Ethiopia Togo G Tunisia Gabon Gambia U Ghana Uganda Guinea Ζ Guinea-Bissau Zambia Κ Zimbabwe Kenya

ASIA

Mongolia Myanmar

Ν Afghanistan Nepal Armenia Ρ Azerbaijan Pakistan Palestine (West Bank and Gaza Strip) В Bahrein* **Philippines** Bangladesh Bhutan S Saudi Arabia* C Singapore* Cambodia Sri Lanka China Syrian Arab Republic G T Georgia Tajikistan Thailand Timor-Leste Hong Kong* Turkey Turkmenistan India U United Arab Emirates* Indonesia Iran Uzbekistan Iraq V J Vietnam Jordan Υ Yemen Kazakhstan Korea, Democratic People's Republic of Kyrgyzstan L Laos Lebanon Libya М Malaysia Maldives

EASTERN EUROPE

В

Belarus

R Ru

Russian Federation*

Κ

Kosovo

U

Ukraine

М

Moldova

OCEANIA

С

Cook Islands

F

Fiji

Κ

Kiribati

M

Micronesia

Ν

Nauru Niue

Ρ

Palau

Papua New Guinea

S

Samoa

Solomon Islands

Т

Tokelau Tonga Tuvalu

٧

Vanuatu

LATIN AMERICA AND THE CARIBBEAN

Α

Argentina

В

Belize

Bolivia

Brazil

C

Colombia Cook Island

Costa Rica

Cuba

D

Dominica

Dominican Republic

Ε

Ecuador

El Salvador

G

Grenada

Guatemala

Guyana

Н

Haiti

Honduras

J

Jamaica

M

Marshall Islands

Mexico

Montserrat

Ν

Nicaragua

Ρ

Panama Paraguay Peru

S

Saint Helena Saint Lucia

Saint Vincent and the Grenadines

Suriname

V

Venezuela

This list is based on the <u>DAC-list</u>. In addition, the list includes countries listed on the <u>2024 World Press</u> <u>Freedom Index</u> ranking from 145 to 180 (red). Some of these countries are not included in the DAC-list, but the situation concerning freedom of the press is very serious. Only projects about human rights or political issues of sensitive nature within the country will be accepted from these countries, see * marked above.

The list excludes the Eastern European countries that have access to funding from the MEDIA programme.

^{*} Projects from these countries are only accepted when they address social and political issues of sensitive nature within the country itself.